When did Wormtail become a Death Eater?

Harry Potter tangible

Death Eater

Before Lord Voldemort disappeared after his first unsuccessful attempt to murder Harry Potter, he had gathered many followers around him. He called his closest confidante, the inner circle around the Dark Lord, Death Eaters.

The Death Eaters are responsible for many murders and other crimes committed during and after Voldemort's first heyday. Some of them were tried after the collapse of the Dark Lord's empire and taken to Azkaban. But most managed to excuse themselves by claiming that Voldemort had forced them to do what they did through blackmail or magic curses.

The hallmark of Death Eaters is the dark mark on the forearm. Apart from this indicator, they are not easy to recognize. Not even all of the Death Eaters know each other, as they wear masks during their meetings.

Historic Death Eaters

In Professor Dumbledore's Denkarium, Harry Potter follows in the fourth novel how Igor Karkaroff, himself a former Death Eater, once betrayed other followers of Voldemort in front of the Wizengamot in order to be released from custody in Azkaban.

He mentioned the names of Antonin Dolohow, Evan Rosier, Travers, Mulciber, of Augustus Rookwood and Severus Snape.
Dumbledore saved Snape from conviction by confirming that while he was indeed a follower of Voldemort, he had already turned to the other side before Voldemort's demise.

In another scene in the Pensieve, Harry meets four other Death Eaters who went to Azkaban to torture the Auror Frank Longbottom and his wife: Bellatrix, Rabastan and Rodolphus Lestrange, as well as Barty Crouch junior.

Also a Death Eater was Regulus Black, the younger brother of Harry's godfather Sirius. This, however, was once killed by his own like-minded comrades when he got cold feet and wanted to retire.

The return of the Death Eaters

After Voldemort is reborn, he touches the Dark Mark on Wormtail's arm and shortly afterwards Death Eaters begin to Apparate in the cemetery. The Dark Lord addresses some of them by name:

Lucius Malfoy is one of those Death Eaters, as are the two fathers of Crabbe and Goyle.
Other followers are Avery, Walden Macnair, Nott and not to forget the helper who accompanies and cares for Voldemort on his return: Peter Pettigrew alias Wormtail.

In the fifth volume, nine imprisoned Death Eaters manage to escape from Azkaban. Bellatrix Lestrange, Antonin Dolohow and Augustus Rookwood are mentioned by name. The refugees join their master again.

The battle for prophecy

Towards the end of the fifth novel, Voldemort lures Harry and five of his friends into the Department of Mysteries at the Ministry of Wizardry. There the friends expect twelve Death Eaters, Avery, the father of Crabbe, Dolohow, Jugson, Bellatrix, Rabastan and Rodolphus Lestrange, Macnair, Mulciber, Nott, Rookwood and Lucius Malfoy.

The black magicians claim the prophecy Harry took from one of the shelves. But the friends flee and are persecuted.
A bitter battle ensues in which five members of the Order of the Phoenix (Sirius Black, Remus Lupine, Nymphadora Tonks, Alastor Moody and Albus Dumbledore) intervene. Eventually the Death Eaters are defeated. Sirius dies in a fight with Bellatrix Lestrange, who is the last to escape. But all other Death Eaters are overwhelmed and taken to Azkaban.

More Death Eaters

In the sixth volume, Severus Snape mentions the names of other Death Eaters: Yaxley, the siblings Amycus and Alecto Carrow and Greyback, who plays an important role in this novel sequence. Another of Voldemort's followers is called Gibbon.

The seventh volume finally comes up with a whole army of Death Eaters. After another mass breakout from Azkaban, many of the known Death Eaters are joined by some new ones who intervene more or less deeply in the plot. They include Selwyn and Stan Shunpike.