Do you worship Lord Shiva


Shiva's skin

Shiva's white skin symbolizes the light that drives away the darkness, the knowledge that drives away ignorance. Shiva is also called "Blue Neck" (Nilakantha) because he drank the poison that threatened to destroy the world when the gods and demons churned up the ocean of milk to gain the nectar. The poison stopped in his throat and stayed there, saving the outside world and Shiva himself. But the poison stained his throat blue.

Shiva's trident

The trident (trisula), a weapon with three points, symbolizes the destruction of the ego together with its threefold desire nature in connection with the body, mind and intellect. Shiva with his trident points to the victory over the ego, which leads to perfection. The three points represent the three properties (gunas): sattva (pure, clear), rajas (active) and tamas (dull, sluggish and unmoved); the three phases of creation: creation, maintenance, destruction; as well as the three states: jagrat (wakefulness), swapna (dream phase) and sushupti (deep sleep).

Shiva's drum

The drum represents sound, alphabet, grammar, language and the entire field of sacred and secular arts and sciences. The drum in his hands means that all of creation, including the arts and sciences, arose from his divine will, or are merely a game of his. First Shiva drums, then he dances the dance of the universe as Nataraja.

Shiva's eyes

The two eyes of Shiva symbolize the sun and the moon; his third eye symbolizes fire. The third eye represents the eye of knowledge and wisdom, the center of its omniscience. He burned the demon Manmatha, i.e. desire, with his third eye, known as "jnana chakshu", which literally means "eye of wisdom" and shows that Shiva has a divine view of reality.

Shiva's hair

All of the sky, including the wind, shapes Shiva's hair. Shiva is the lord of the wind who represents the subtle breath. King Bhagiratha wanted to bring the Ganges from heaven to earth in order to secure salvation for the souls of his deceased ancestors. The king was faced with a problem. The force of the powerful current was too great to hit the earth directly.

The king needed a stopover to mitigate the fall from the great heavenly height. The king turned to Shiva, who agreed to help. Shiva caught the Ganges falling from the sky in his felt-like hair and divided the one great river into seven. He then directed these seven currents from his hair to the earth.

The Ganges stands for true self-knowledge. The common man finds it difficult to understand this experience of the highest state. It takes great souls like Bhagiratha to give such understanding to people. However, in order for people to benefit from the stream of knowledge, the strength of the flow or experience must be manageable. The Ganges purifies everything that comes into contact with it. The bearer of the corridor becomes the personification of cleansing or redeeming qualities.

Shiva's crescent

The powerful time represented by the crescent moon is nothing more than an ornament for Shiva. With the flow of time, the moon is increasing and decreasing. Shiva wears the moon on his head, which shows that he is master of time.

Shiva's clothes

The tiger skin symbolizes complete mastery of anger. The elephant skin that he wears symbolizes that all animal impulses can be brought under control. So Shiva rises and masters all manifested power.

Shiva's snake

The coiled serpent represents time and Kundalini energy (serpentine power). Shiva is a master of time and energy.

Shiva's skull garland

The skull garland and the ashes on Shiva's body symbolize his role as Lord of Destruction. This also depicts the cycles of the appearance and disappearance of human races. The skull garland also represents the egos of humanity that he has destroyed.